Read what guests think about their stay

“Delicious smoked fish, courtesy of amazing camp manager!”

 
5 of 5 starsReviewed 3 November 2015

We had a great time here last weekend. Thanks for a great stay…
Such an amazing camping place full of whitebaiters, fishers, gold panners, explorers, and good old kiwi style. Had a great time fishing out in the bay.

  • Stayed November 2015, travelled as a couple

“Amazing place”

 
5 of 5 starsReviewed 21 November 2015

A group of us spent 2 nights at this beautiful place ,which in itself would have been more than enough. However the level of service was brilliant, the use of fishing rods (courtesy of Gary and Chrissy) then having Gary smoke the fish…awesome…the accommodation was spot on..helpful and friendly don’t really describe how great these folk are.. A BIG thank you guys …we will be back…Iain

  • Stayed November 2015, travelled with friends

“Chrissy is amazing!”

 
5 of 5 starsReviewed 23 December 2015

Chrissy really understands how a traveller feels when they arrive at their accommodation after a journey. She went above and beyond.
The bed in the kitchen room was extremely comfortable and I had an amazing night’s sleep. I also got to see ‘the bach’, which I would love to stay in with a group – I love the older-style decor. There is definitely plenty to come back for in Collingwood.
I can see why they have regulars here.

“Einer unserer Lieblingsplätze auf der Reise! ”

 
5 of 5 starsReviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Toller Campingplatz mit Stellplätzen direkt am Wasser. Frühstück und Abendessen direkt 2 Meter neben dem Meer. Dazu sehr nette Besitzer, die den Platz sauber halten und unglaublich hilfsbereit sind. Immer wieder gerne! Danke! 🙂

Stayed April 2016, travelled with family

“Fantastic motorcamp, great owners, real kiwi experience, great fishing”

“Fantastic motorcamp, great owners, real kiwi experience, great fishing”
5 of 5 starsReviewed 29 January 2016

We have stayed in Collingwood motorcamp for over three weeks (while we planed to stay for a couple of days) and totally loved it! It’s a place with a lot of character. The owners, Chrissy and Garry are just the most lovely persons, which really adds to the experience. Its great fishing on the beach and you most likely catch a big fat Kawahai. Gary prepares the best smoked Kawahai we have had and does this ones in a while for the guests. We would highly recommand to stay here (instead of crazy busy Pohara) and experience a real Kiwi life-style.

  • Stayed January 2016, travelled as a couple

“Friendly Helpful and Professional management”

“Friendly, Helpful and Professional Management”
4 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful location, Great Fishing, Friendly and Helpful Management, Aged Facilities. I’ve stayed here on three occasions over the last 12 months. The peaceful atmosphere is not only generated by the beautiful location it is clearly brought about by Chrissy and Garry who both make you feel very welcome and at home in this camp. For me you can’t get much better than this.

Ross MacDonald

“Starry Nights by the Sea”

“Starry nights by the sea”
5 of 5 starsReviewed 15 April 2016

Great location, at the southern tip of the Ruataniwha Inlet, where the Aorere River flows into Golden Bay. We had a place right on the water’s edge, where we could observe the movements of the birds as the tides changed: oyster catchers, seagulls, herons, and even a black swan. Interesting and clean sanitary installations: a series of shower-sink-toilet units, each covered with its mosquito net, placed in two rows inside a kind of barn. A very friendly couple, Chrissy and Gary (and some friendly helpers) runs the place. We even decided to stay for another night (not our habit).
Basis for trips to Farewell Spit (northern tip of Golden Bay), and to the Kahurangi NP.